Built in 1871, along “Millionaires Row,” this French Victorian mansion was home to two prominent Memphis families. Amos Woodruff, a successful carriage maker, built the house for his family. Noland Fontaine, an established businessman, purchased the house from the Woodruffs in 1883, where they lived until 1929. The house was sold to Rosa Lee to expand her art school which moved to Overton Park in 1959, and established themselves as the Memphis College of Art. The house was vacant until 1961, when the Association for the Preservation of Tennessee Antiquities restored the mansion and it opened its doors as a historic house museum.
"Such a treasure in our wonderful city to visit and experience the past. With the help of the fine docents that share their knowledge so passionately every visit is a pleasure."
To educate the public about Victorian life in Memphis through the preservation of the Woodruff-Fontaine House Museum and properties.